Information for New Students

Congratulations on your admission and welcome to Saint Louis University.

We hope to see you at a graduate orientation session. We highly recommend that all new graduate students attend, but if you are receiving an assistantship or fellowship, it is required.

2017 Graduate Orientation Dates

  • New Graduate Assistant/Fellowship Orientation: Aug. 23

Learn More about Graduate Student Orientation

Graduate Programs Contacts

Many of your questions about your academic requirements or individual graduate school experience can be answered by contacts at the college, school or degree granting center to which you have been admitted.

Center for Advanced Dental Education

John Hatton, D.M.D., Executive Director
Dreiling-Marshall Hall, Second Floor
john.hatton@health.slu.edu
314-977-8363

Kimberly Cox, Administrative Assistant
Dreiling-Marshall Hall, Second Floor
kimberly.cox@health.slu.edu
314-977-8611

College of Arts and Sciences

Janet Barber, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Graduate Affairs
Verhaegen Hall, Room 220
janet.barber@slu.edu
314-977-2973

Catherine Zimmer, Business Manager
Verhaegen Hall, Room 320
catherine.zimmer@slu.edu
314-977-2468

College for Public Health and Social Justice

Darcy Scharff, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, (Contact for public health and health management and policy)
Salus Center, Dean's Suite
darcy.scharff@slu.edu
314-977-4009

Kristi Richter, Director of Graduate Admissions (Contact for social work, applied behavior analysis, criminology and professional practice, urban planning and development)
Tegeler Hall, Second Floor
kristi.richter@slu.edu
314-977-2752

Doisy College of Health Sciences

Elizabeth Gockel-Blessing, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Student and Academic Affairs
Allied Health Building, Room 3094
elizabeth.gockelblessing@health.slu.edu
314-977-8691

Matthew Campbell, Business Manager
Allied Health Building, Room 3113
matt.campbell@health.slu.edu
314-977-8605 

John Cook School of Business

Heather Bednarek, Associate Dean and Associate Professor
Davis-Shaughnessy Hall, Room 200
heather.bednarek@slu.edu
314-977-2476

Sheryl Smith, Administrative Secretary
Davis-Shaughnessy Hall, Room 311
sheryl.smith@slu.edu
314-977-3868

Parks College of Aviation, Engineering and Technology 

Riyadh A. Hindi, Ph.D., Associate Dean and Professor
McDonnell Douglas Hall, Room 1025
riyadh.hindi@slu.edu
314-977-8547

Nicole Mispagel, Graduate Programs Assistant
McDonnell Douglas Hall, Room 1025
nicole.mispagel@slu.edu
314-977-8306

Saint Louis University Center for Outcomes Research

Leslie Hinyard, Ph.D., Associate Director for Academic Affairs
Salus Center, Room 409C
leslie.hinyard@health.slu.edu
314-977-9473

Linda Waller, Business Manager
Salus Center, 2nd Fl Room 2801
linda.waller@health.slu.edu
314-977-9464 

School of Education

Kellisa Fiala, Executive Assistant 1
Fitzgerald Hall, Room 130
kellisa.fiala@slu.edu
314-977-3292

School of Law

Jon Baris, Assistant Dean for Student Services
Scott Hall, Room 1008B
jon.baris@slu.edu
314-977-3675

Denise M. Economon, Associate Dean for Administration
Scott Hall, Room 872E
denise.economon@slu.edu
314-977-2761

School of Medicine

Willis K. Samson, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Graduate Education
Caroline Building, Room 207-A
willis.samson@health.slu.edu
314-977-8677

Lindsay Oliver, Graduate Program Coordinator
Caroline Building, Room 207-A
lindsay.oliver@health.slu.edu
314-977-8678

School of Nursing

Joanne Thanavaro, D.N.P., Interim Associate Dean for Graduate Education
School of Nursing, Room 225
joanne.thanavaro@slu.edu
314-977-8993

Joanne Schneider, Interim Director of the Ph.D. Program
School of Nursing, Room 432
joanne.schneider@slu.edu
314-977-8937

Lisa Roach, Business Manager
School of Nursing, Room 221
lisa.roach@slu.edu
314-977-8911

School for Professional Studies

Steven L. Winton, Ph.D., Director of the M.A. program in leadership and organizational development
Brouster Hall
steven.winton@slu.edu
314-977-5729

Srikanth Mudigonda, Ph.D., Director of the M.S. program in applied analytics
Brouster Hall
srikanth.mudigonda@slu.edu
314-977-7214

Saint Louis University-Madrid Campus

Paul Vita, Ph.D., Director and Academic Dean
Saint Louis University-Madrid Campus
paul.vita@slu.edu
Phone: (+34) 91 554 5858 - ext: 207